AAU concludes the First International Conference on Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences


Al Ain University concluded the First International Conference of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences, which lasted for two days, from 18 to 19th of January 2023, at Abu Dhabi campus. More than 170 researchers and participants attended the conference, and more than 100 research papers from 40 academic and non-academic institutions were reviewed from 20 different countries.

The conference discussed research related to various fields of health and medical sciences and addressed proposals and innovative solutions to serve the community and meet its needs through scientific research and workshops presented by a group of speakers, researchers, specialists, professors, pharmacists, nutrition experts, trainees and students. The conference addressed several domains, most notably: Clinical Pharmacology, and Pharmacy Practice, Pharmacology and Molecular Therapeutics, Drug Design and Discovery, Biomedical Sciences, Pharmaceutical Technology and Nutrition and Food Science. The conference included keynote addresses madeby: Prof. Marc von Etzstein - Professor of Chemical Biology and Medicinal Chemistry, Executive Director of the Glycomics Institute, University of Griffiths, Queensland, Australia, and Professor Jonathan Laing - Professor of Public Health, University of Sunderland, UK.

On the sidelines of the conference, a competition was organized for graduate students, which aimed to give them the opportunity to present their scientific research and share their knowledge. In this competition, 26 students from various universities from inside and outside the UAE participated, and 9 winners were selected by an experienced jury. Three of the winners were from Al Ain University: Abdullah Abu Hajal (Al Ain Campus) got the first place in the category of ‘Best Poster’ in terms of ‘Best Scientific Quality’, Molhm Sakkal (Al Ain Campus) got the first place in the category of ‘Best Presenter’, and Nour Samani from Al Ain University (Abu Dhabi Campus) got the second place in the category of ‘Best Design’.

While the remaining six prizes went to: Aisha Al-Mutairi from the Emirates Health Services Corporation/first place in the category of ‘Best Design’, Aseel Al-Jawabri from the UAE University / second place in the category of the ‘Best Poster’ in terms of scientific quality, Aseel Siddiq from Trinity College Dublin/second place in the category of ‘Best Presentation’, Maram Abbas from the Dubai College of Pharmacy /third place in the category of the ‘Best Poster’, Maryam Dabbous/third place in the category of the ‘Best Design’, and Hisham Al-Ashmouni from the Gulf Medical University/third place in the category of ‘Best Presentation’.


Related News